- ABOUT US
- TAKE ACTION
- NEWS & EVENTS
- BUILDING INDUSTRY NETWORK
- GIVE TO PNJ
- 1867 Sanctuary
- PNJ BLOGS
- 10 MOST ENDANGERED
These listings have been submitted to Preservation New Jersey and represent buildings for sale of historic interest. They may be locally, or state or federally, designated, or endangered. They are all important "someplaces" that we hope won't become just "anyplace."
Please contact the owner or listing broker shown and not PNJ regarding any of these unique properties. Owners or brokers should email information on properties to email@example.com, subject: realestate. Preservation New Jersey disclaims any responsibility for statements made by the sellers.
Interested in listing a property on our "For Sale: Someplace" page? Contact Preservation NJ today for details!
|The Scott-DeCamp House, 175 Powerville Road, Boonton Township|
The Scott-DeCamp House, also known as “Powerville House," was constructed in the late 1700’s by Joseph Scott and remained continuously in the ownership of descendents until 1977 when it was purchased privately by the current owners – this home has never been on the open market. The Scott and DeCamp families were significant in the early history of Morris County in enterprises such as iron mines; mills (iron forge and gristmill) at Powerville; Morris Canal developers and operators; and large property owners. The Morris County Tourne Park located behind the Scott-Decamp House was originally part of this property and Clarence DeCamp was instrumental in conveying the land to Morris County for use as a County park. The mills operated by William Scott (son of Joseph) were next to the Powerville dam nearby on the Rockaway River. Several of the mill stones collected by Clarence Decamp from the Powerville mills are now a decorative part of the garden.
|850 Terrill Road, The Lampkin House, Plainfield|
850 Terrill Road, known locally as the Lampkin House, is a 1.5 story, post-and-beam wood frame structure with many features which strongly suggest that it is an early Dutch style farmhouse. The house retains many 17th century characteristics, including corner fireplaces, an original 8-foot open-hearth fireplace with its original crane and bake oven, and massive exposed ceiling beams. This house is likely one of the area’s original settlement houses.
This nine-room house has four bedrooms, and a full basement. It has a screened front porch and a rear sun porch. Included on the property is a 19th century barn. The property shares a border with 30 acres of municipally owned and protected open space.
The Lampkin House requires immediate stabilization, as it is significantly deteriorated. The Lampkin House may qualify for preservation funding assistance, including the Federal Historic Preservation Tax Credit, state and county grants, and loans. The property may also qualify for a preservation easement.
James K. Estabrook, Esq.
|Oak Cottage, Long Valley, Washington Twsp.|
Oak Cottage (built prior to 1860) and the accompanying carriage house (a converted Apple Cider Distillery built in 1828) stand at the peak of Schooley ’s Mountain - near the center of the State and National Register listed Schooley’s Mountain Historic District in scenic Long Valley (Washington Township, Morris County). Oak Cottage is one of few remaining unaltered Second Empire style homes in the region, and boasts a fascinating history from the area’s reign as America’s top elite “health resort” during the late 1800s.
The current owners have just completed a four-year restoration of Oak Cottage. The house has been lovingly restored from the top of the Mansard roof to the floor of the walk-out basement. Oak Cottage now includes new heating, electric, plumbing, and septic systems, new fixtures, a remodeled kitchen, and 4 new baths (2 full + 2 half.) The authentically-restored historic exterior and interior details, including exterior siding, original windows rebuilt by hand, and interior plaster and woodwork, are too numerous to list!
Oak Cottage consists of 13 rooms (6 bedrooms) PLUS 4 baths (2 full and 2 half), an unfinished basement, 2 covered porches, and the approximately 1400 square foot mill/carriage house. The property consists of just over one acre of land, which includes a pond that is not only scenic – but also offers excellent fishing!
Live a part of history! JUST REDUCED: offered at $425,000. More information is available on the website: http://www.OakCottage.info. Or contact owner (Michele) at: 973-945-6311.